When I Say, “I am a Christian.”

ben-white-128608.jpg

I found this beauty on a site called, Thoughts About God. If you would like to view the original article that was posted, then please click here. All credit goes to the talented author, Carol Wimmer.

Enjoy!

When I say, “I am a Christian.”

By Carol Wimmer 

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I’m not shouting, “I’ve been saved!”
I’m whispering, “I get lost!
That’s why I chose this way”.

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I don’t speak with human pride
I’m confessing that I stumble –
Needing God to be my guide

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I’m not trying to be strong
I’m professing that I’m weak
And pray for strength to carry on.

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I’m not bragging of success
I’m admitting that I’ve failed
And cannot ever pay the debt.

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I don’t think I know it all
I submit to my confusion
Asking humbly to be taught.

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I’m not claiming to be perfect
My flaws are all too visible
But God believes I’m worth it.

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I still feel the sting of pain
I have my share of heartache,
Which is why I seek His name.

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I do not wish to judge
I have no authority…
I only know I’m loved.

 

2 thoughts on “When I Say, “I am a Christian.””

  1. I love that poem so much. Like it says, we alone are weak and stumble often, but we can be confident in the knowledge that we are loved by our Savior. Thank you so much for sharing, it has already brightened my day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

