It’s Okay To Not Be Dating!

jakob-owens-168406.jpg

 

They are everywhere, at the malls, libraries, movie theaters, restaurants, and they are holding hands, kissing, and gazing at each other with utter adoration. They are constant reminders of the fact that (dare we say it?) you are not in a relationship. 

You watch those couples and wonder, “What’s wrong with me? Am I not dateable? Am I not  pretty/handsome enough? I mean, all my friends have boyfriends/girlfriends, how come I don’t? What am I doing wrong!!?”

These, my friend, are the thoughts that plague most of the young people of today’s society. When you are not dating you feel undesirable, rejected, and worthless. You are lonely and wonder why no one seems to want you…

I hate that you feel this way, and I find it sad, that in order to feel worthy and special, you think that you must have someone attached to your name. Well, let me tell you something… You don’t!

You are worthwhile, special, and amazing without a boyfriend/girlfriend. You don’t need to date to make you all those things, because you already are.

It’s okay to not be dating! Please don’t let the world or anyone else tell you that it’s not.

The Bible has a couple of verses on singleness that I thought I would share with you:

1 Corinthians 7:32-35 ESV, “I want you to be free from anxieties. The unmarried man is anxious about the things of the Lord, how to please the Lord. But the married man is anxious about worldly things, how to please his wife, and his interests are divided. And the unmarried or betrothed woman is anxious about the things of the Lord, how to be holy in body and spirit. But the married woman is anxious about worldly things, how to please her husband. I say this for your own benefit, not to lay any restraint upon you, but to promote good order and to secure your undivided devotion to the Lord.”

 Isaiah 54:5 ESV, For your Maker is your husband, the Lord of hosts is his name; and the Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer, the God of the whole earth he is called.”

Matthew 6:33-34 ESV, “But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

God has a beautiful plan for you and to help you on your journey. I would like to recommend the book, “When God Writes Your Love Story.” By Eric and Leslie Ludy.

I LOVE this book! I can’t say enough good things about it, so I encourage you too read it. Whether you are single or in a relationship, I guarantee that it will change your life!

I hope this post helped all you single pringels out there, and I know that it’s hard right now but it’s not the end of the world! You’ll be okay, just lift your face to the One above and trust that His plan is better and more amazing than yours.

 

 

3 thoughts on “It’s Okay To Not Be Dating!”

  1. Hey, really liked what you said. And I feel like I’ve been saying that in a lot of my comments lately, but that is by no way taking away from its value or honesty. I really feel that as a single person, things can get hard. There’s that lurking curiosity of “How come they have what I want?” And discontentment can easily creep in and grow into anger with God. Thanks for sharing, much love, Collins.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

