When God Say’s No…

When God Says No...

When God says “No” what do you do?

Do you…

A. Get frustrated

B. Complain

C. Ask, “Why?”

D. Trust that God has a better plan

I Would Choose…

I would probably choose C! When things that I really want to work out don’t, my first reaction is… Why? Why can’t I do this Lord?  Why did you close this door Lord? Why can’t I …. Blah, blah. blah? After I get that out of my system I tend to think more along the lines of  why God may have said “No.” Maybe He knows something that I don’t ( which is always the case! ) or maybe He said “No” because what I want is not what God wants me for me. Getting a big, fat “No” is hard! But there’s always a good reason for it!*

*Psst! This goes for your parents as well!

Why “No” Just Might Be The Best Thing That Happened To You!

I know, I know, I can just hear you right now!

“Bekah, how in the world can a big, fat “no” possibly be a good thing?”

Good question! Let me explain…

Has God ever said “no” to you and you just didn’t get why He said that but then something better than your original plan came along? I know I can say yes! And I have come to respect, “No” because if God didn’t say no I would have missed a bigger and better opportunity!  

 Do you see where I am going with this?

God knows best! I know in the moment it’s hard to believe when the college you wanted to go to turns you down or the fun weekend you planned with your friends falls through, or the vacation you were looking forward is canceled, or when the job you really, really wanted is given to someone else! I get it’s hard not to complain, get frustrated or even ask ( or yell ) “Why!”

But you know what? Sometimes we have to choose to trust that God has a bigger, better more beneficial plan for us… Yes, even when it doesn’t seem like it!

God’s Plan Is Better Than Ours!

 I know it’s hard to believe but it’s true! God truly does know best in all areas of your life. Even when it doesn’t seem like its at the time, trust God that He will take care of what ever it is in your life that He is saying no to. God loves you and wants only the best for you… Even when it doesn’t see like it at the time. When my parents were thinking about adopting from Russia God closed that door, they didn’t know why, they thought God was calling them to adopt from there. They tried adopting from three more adoption agencies but each time God said. “Not right now.” 

Finally they tried adopting from Guatemala and God said, “Yes.” 

And if my parents did not listen to God’s plan when they wanted to adopt from Russia I wouldn’t be here writing this for y’all! So you see if God says, “No,” know that He might just be saying, “Wait,” or “Maybe.” He knows what’s ahead so I dare you to trust that when He says, no, wait, or maybe that He has a bigger, brighter plan for you.

Hebrews 12:9-11, Moreover, we have all had human fathers who disciplined us and we respected them for it. How much more should we submit to the Father of spirits and live! 10 They disciplined us for a little while as they thought best; but God disciplines us for our good, in order that we may share in his holiness. 11 No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

